Posted by: Admin | February 26, 2011

Part 2 – What does breastfeeding mean to you?


My third child was born at a stressful time. My father had announced he was dying three months beforehand, and then he died three months after his grandchild’s birth. Also, I thought I knew all there was to know about mothering and breastfeeding. I had had a successful experience with breastfeeding my daughter until she was 1 year old and thought I had nothing else to learn! Life showed me differently.

As I had placed my new baby boy skin-to-skin to me right after his birth, he was able to latch on well and thrived, but from the start I suffered from cracked nipples, and I ended up with severe mastitis (breast infection) and needed to be hospitalized. It was 1988, and the hospital staff asked me to find a babysitter to take care of my baby while I was treated with IV antibiotics. I refused. I remember slumping on a chair in a waiting area with my baby between my sore breasts, waiting to see if they would accept me with him. The IV in my arm kept coming off, as the adhesive tape would not hold onto my fever-heated skin. Sick as I felt, though, there was no way I would be separated from my baby. The nurse talked to the doctor and they put me in a private room …with my baby. We discovered that my cracked nipples were the result of me not holding my baby correctly at the breast, and the breast infection was the result of the cracked nipples. Once I got help from a support group, I was able to breastfeed my beautiful baby boy for a long time!

Do you have a breastfeeding story to share? Just click on Comments below!

Leave a Reply

Categories

